Skip to content

What a World

April 16, 2015

Why do we feel like the witch in the Wizard of Oz? Doused with water, she cries: “Oh,what a world! What world!”

Why can’t we be like so many others and just say: “Ah, fuck ‘em. They’re all crooks.”

Instead, we can’t help feeling bad for the Skelos family (and for Silver and Libous families, too.) Yes, they had it good for a long time. Power, wealth, influence, etc.

But people are people. Anguish is anguish.

We again think of Mario Cuomo. Sol Wachtler gets in trouble and Cuomo says: “No. I’m not going there. I choose to believe the best about him. I know him as brilliant man who has achieved so much for people. He’s innocent in my mind until proven otherwise.”

In this regard, maybe there’s an explanation for it all:

Gail at the breakfast table: “Don’t forget to make that call for Adam today.”

Dean: “What call?”

Gail: “He’s been trying to get a meeting in Mangano’s office, but hasn’t got a return call.”

Dean: “Gail, I’ve got to be careful about things nowadays. You know that.”

Gail: “I know. I know. But all he’s asking is for an opening. He just wants a meeting so he can make his pitch.”

Dean: “I’m under a microscope now.”

Gail: “Would it really be a problem for you to call Mangano and asking him to take a meeting with Adam? Haven’t you done a lot for Ed?”

Dean: “Well, yeah, but still…”

Gail: “This is important to Adam.”

Dean: “Oh, alright. I’ll try, but I’ll have to check with legal staff to make sure it’s ok. Maybe I can do it if I’m just asking for Ed to give him a meeting. There can’t be a problem with that.”

Maybe this is the way it went down. Maybe it was just a father trying to help his son – and not doing anything that constitutes a federal crime.

This is what we want to believe. This is what we will believe until…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    April 16, 2015 2:47 PM

    You should have given the entire quote:

    You cursed brat! Look what you’ve done! I’m melting. Melting! Oh, what a world! What a world! Who would have thought a good little girl like you could destroy my beautiful wickedness? Oooooh, look out! I’m going! Oooooh! Ooooooh!

  2. Anonymous permalink
    April 16, 2015 3:49 PM

    Skelos could have a problem in the scenario you described. It depends on how Mangano interpreted the call. If he felt pressured to arrange a meeting and give the contract to an unqualified bidder — that’s a case for sure.

Leave a Reply

