Skip to content

Cuomo & Son

August 2, 2010

Here’s a sense of the dialogue we had this morning after reading “Cuomo & Son” in New York magazine: 

“I guess we know why Andrew has avoided the media; it’s a disaster when he talks.” 

“Where were his communications people? Why didn’t someone get up in the middle of the interview and say: “Excuse me, boss, but you’re off message here. Way, way, way off.”

“What could they (Andrew and Mario) be thinking? What’s the benefit to airing the dirty laundry like this?”

“Geez, I thought my family was dysfunctional. We’re Ozzie and Harriet compared to these people.” 

“This is just great. We’re going to have another governor who needs to be on a psychiatrist’s couch.” 

“I can’t believe there wasn’t one person who gave an on-the-record comment saying: “No, he’s really a great guy.” Doesn’t the man have any friends at all?” 

Only one person from our group had anything remotely positive to say about the article:

“The first thing I did after reading that article was call my father. I told him that I loved him and that I was proud to be his son. The second thing I did was hug my son and say: “I may not be perfect, but I want you to know that I really love you.”

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    August 2, 2010 11:20 AM

    Nobody who runs for public office is sane.

  2. Anonymous permalink
    August 2, 2010 11:29 AM

    Andrew is still going to win, but this story explodes the notion that he really has his act together.

  3. Anonymous permalink
    August 2, 2010 2:38 PM

    ouch. . .

    funnily enough; is it not pro forma to be nuts/and or of mythic proportions and nuts?

Leave a Reply

