Skip to content

Some Needed Introspection

May 28, 2010

What am I going to do? I’m the chair of the party. I’m supposed to bring people together. I’m supposed to be a unifying force. 

But everybody is pissed off at me. They just don’t get it. We needed to do something out of the box to stand a chance. It was a good idea, or, at least, it seemed like it was at the time. 

OK, it’s not working out. It’s not going to happen. I see that now.  I wish I could separate myself from it, but I can’t because it was my idea. 

What am I going to do? I’ve never quit anything in my life, but if I’ve become a source of divisiveness within my own party, then I’ve got no choice. The party must come first. We can’t be split down the middle heading into the summer and fall. If the top of the ticket doesn’t hold the base, it will undermine the effort to win back the Senate and jeopardize everything. 

What am I going to do? I can’t quit in the middle of a campaign, but how can I stay when each day my support within the party dwindles. How can I stay when I’m preventing the party from coming together? 

What am I going to do?

One Comment leave one →
  1. mark Keister permalink
    May 28, 2010 11:35 AM

    political martyrdom is perfectly acceptable, fall on your sword or find a willing friend!

Leave a Reply

